Alida Anderson Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Amaarah DeCuir Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Dr. DeCuir is an Education Leadership scholar whose work, broadly speaking, focuses on the intersections of leadership, gender, and diverse cultural contexts to advance social justice.

  adecuir@american.edu

  (202) 885-2124

Traci Dennis Instructor CAS - School of Education

Traci Dennis joined AU in 2016 as a Term Faculty. Traci has a strong record of teaching and leadership experience in K-12 urban schools. Previous to this role, Traci was a Manager of Professional Serv

  tdennis@american.edu

  (202) 885-8964

Marilyn Goldhammer Educator in Residence CAS - School of Education

Marilyn joined CTRL in January, 2012 as the Coordinator of Program Initiatives and Teaching Resources. She had previously worked with CTRL to conduct noontime conversations, co-lead the Adjunct orient

  goldhamm@american.edu

  (202) 885-2068

Jermain Griffin Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Dr. Jermain Griffin is a May 2017 PhD graduate from Colorado State University. He recently served as a Graduate Research Associate with the American Council on Education’s Center for Internationalizat

  jermaing@american.edu

  (202) 885-6367

Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy Dean, School of Education CAS - School of Education

Dr. Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy joined AU in 2016 as the Dean of the School of Education. In concert with her colleagues in the College of Arts and Sciences, she concentrates her efforts on recruiting and su

  cholcomb@american.edu

Sarah Irvine Belson Executive Director, Institute for Innovation in Education CAS - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instructional with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with d

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Cynthia Miller-Idriss Associate Professor of Education and Sociology CAS - School of Education

Cynthia Miller-Idriss is Associate Professor of Education and Sociology in the College of Arts and Sciences and Director of the International Training and Education Program in the School of Education.

  cynthia@american.edu

  (202) 885-3740

Laura Owen Research Professor in Residence

Dr. Laura Owen joins AU as a researcher in residence, where she will focus on researching evidence based practices for school counselors and college advisors aimed at addressing the persistent equity

  owen@american.edu

Jason Snyder Senior Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Jason Snyder’s teaching and research focuses on education law and education policy. Prior to joining American University’s faculty, he served as Deputy Assistant Secretary for Policy in the U.S. Depar

  jtsnyder@american.edu

  (202) 885-6209

Jennifer Steele Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Jennifer L. Steele is an Associate Professor in the School of Education at American University, and an affiliate faculty member in the Department of Public Administration and Policy. Her research,

  steele@american.edu

  (202) 885-3762

Amelia Tseng Scholar in Residence CAS - School of Education

Dr. Amelia Tseng holds her Ph.D and M.S. in sociolinguistics from Georgetown University, her M.A. in Spanish linguistics from Arizona State University, and her B.A. in English Honors and Spanish Magna

  tseng@american.edu

  (202) 885-3098

Vivian Vasquez Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Vivian Maria Vasquez is a Professor of Education at American University. She has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. Her research interests are in critical literacy, early literacy

  vvasque@american.edu

Stephen Vassallo Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

In his teaching and scholarship, Vassallo works to merge perspectives to critically explore issues related to teaching and learning, especially in the context of academic self-regulation. He draws fro

  vassallo@american.edu

  (202) 885-3048

Elizabeth A. Worden Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Elizabeth Anderson Worden joined American University as an assistant professor in the fall of 2007 after earning her PhD in International Education from New York University. Her primary research e

  eaworden@american.edu

  (202) 885-3723