Program Leadership & Contacts

  • For general inquiries:
    teachered@american.edu
    202-885-3746
  • Carolyn Parker
    Director, Master of Arts in Teaching Program:
    caparker@american.edu
  • Traci Dennis
    Director, Undergraduate Studies:
    tdennis@american.edu
  • Caryn Ash
    Field Placement Coordinator:
    ash@american.edu

Full Time Faculty & Staff

Alida Anderson Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

Alida Anderson earned her PhD in special education from the University of Maryland, College Park. Research and teaching interests focus on contextual factors associated with language development and l

  alida.anderson@american.edu

  (202) 885-6214

Julie Sara Boyd Adjunct Professorial Lecturer CAS - School of Education

Julie Sara Boyd is a highly experienced mathematics educator with over eight years of secondary instruction in urban secondary schools. Boyd received her Masters in Industrial Engineering from Northwe

  jboyd@american.edu

  (202) 885-3727

Traci Dennis Instructor CAS - School of Education

Traci Dennis joined AU in 2016 as a Term Faculty. Traci has a strong record of teaching and leadership experience in K-12 urban schools. Previous to this role, Traci was a Manager of Professional Serv

  tdennis@american.edu

Marilyn Goldhammer Educator in Residence CAS - School of Education

Marilyn joined CTRL in January, 2012 as the Coordinator of Program Initiatives and Teaching Resources. She had previously worked with CTRL to conduct noontime conversations, co-lead the Adjunct orient

  goldhamm@american.edu

  (202) 885-2068

Cheryl Holcomb-Mccoy Dean, School of Education CAS - School of Education

Dr. Cheryl Holcomb-McCoy joined AU in 2016 as the Dean of the School of Education. In concert with her colleagues in the College of Arts and Sciences, she concentrates her efforts on recruiting and su

  cholcomb@american.edu

Sarah Irvine Belson Executive Director, Institute for Innovation in Education CAS - School of Education

Dr. Sarah Irvine Belson holds a PhD from Arizona State University in Curriculum and Instructional with a cognate in Special Education. Her research explores educational opportunity for children with d

  sirvine@american.edu

  (202) 885-3714

Vivian Vasquez Professor CAS - School of Education

Dr. Vivian Maria Vasquez is a Professor of Education at American University. She has worked in the field of education for over 30 years. Her research interests are in critical literacy, early literacy

  vvasque@american.edu

  (202) 885-3719

Stephen Vassallo Associate Professor CAS - School of Education

In his teaching and scholarship, Vassallo works to merge perspectives to critically explore issues related to teaching and learning, especially in the context of academic self-regulation. He draws fro

  vassallo@american.edu

  (202) 885-3048

Adjunct Faculty