Washington D.C.’s First Business School



In 1979, owing to the generosity of alumnus Robert Kogod, BSBA ‘62, the school's name was changed to the Kogod College of Business

Founded in 1955 as the School of Business Administration

When the business school was opened in 1955, it initially offered three degree programs: Associate of Business Administration, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, and Master of Business Administration. Major fields of study within these degree programs were accounting, finance, marketing, production, real estate, and statistics. Many of which are still offered at the Kogod School of Business.

In 1979, Robert Kogod, a major real estate developer and president of the Charles E. Smith Companies, made a major donation to rename the school the Robert P. and Arlene R. Kogod College of Business Administration. Robert.

In 1991, the Kogod College of Business Administration received accreditation from the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB), the highest standard of academic achievement for business schools worldwide. With this recognition, the school became the oldest accredited business school in our nation’s capital.


  •   Nathan Baily, 1955–1971

  •   Herbert Striner, 1975–1981

  •   William H. Peters, –1989

  •   F. Doug Tuggle, 1990–1996

  •   Stevan Holmberg, 1996–1998

  •   Myron J. Roomkin, 1998–2004

  •   William DeLone, 2004–2005

  •   Richard M. Durand, 2005—2011

  •   Michael J. Ginzberg, 2011—2014

  •   Erran Carmel, 2014— 2016

  •   John Delaney 2016–present



Major Renovations

In 1999, the school moved into its current location, formerly the John Sherman Meyer Building, vacated by the Washington College of Law. The building received a major renovation, and the school changed its name to the Kogod School of Business. In 2009, the school opened a 20,000-square-foot (1,900 m2) expansion. This addition houses a Financial Services and Information Technology Lab, Behavioral Research Lab, a center for career development, seven additional classrooms, three breakout rooms, and a student lounge.